South Africans going to WEF in Davos

first_imgThe World Economic Forum annual meeting takes place in Davos-Klosters, Switzerland from 17 to 20 January. South Africa’s delegation includes people from the government, media and respected business leaders.South Africa is sending a top team of representatives to the World Economic Forum annual meeting in Davos, Switzerland, starting on 17 January 2017. (Image: South African Government, CC BY-NC-SA 2.0, via Flickr)Brand South Africa reporter South Africans from the government, business, and civil society will be attending the 47th World Economic Forum (WEF) annual meeting in Davos-Klosters, Switzerland, taking place from 17 to 20 January under the theme “Responsive and Responsible Leadership”.The WEF annual meeting gathers leaders from all sectors of society to discuss the global economy and look for solutions to challenges through public-private co-operation.“Leaders have to be responsive and responsible; they must understand that we are living in a world marked by uncertainty, volatility and deep transformational changes,” said Klaus Schwab, founder of the WEF.People were living in precarious situations, he said, and were searching for identity, meaning and a sense of purpose.“More than ever, leadership means taking responsibility,” Schwab said. “It requires courage and commitment to listen and honestly explain the breadth and complexity of issues, to proactively generate solutions and to take action based on core values.”Watch his message:South Africa’s delegation includes:GovernmentCyril Ramaphosa, deputy presidentJeff Radebe, minister in the presidencyEbrahim Patel, minister of economic developmentPravin Gordhan, minister of financeRob Davies, minister of trade and industryState-run organisationsKingsley Makhubela, CEO, Brand South AfricaGeoffrey Qhena, CEO, Industrial Development Corporation of South AfricaBusisiwe Mabuza, chairperson, Industrial Development CorporationDaniel Matjila, CEO, Public Investment CorporationBongani Nqwababa, CEO, Sasol LimitedLesetja Kganyago, governor, South African Reserve BankDaniel Mminele, deputy governor, South African Reserve BankJabulane Mabuza, chairman, TelkomSiyabonga Gama, CEO, TransnetShulami Qalinge, group executive of strategy, TransnetLinda Mabaso, chairperson of the board, TransnetFinance and investmentMaria Ramos, CEO, Barclays Africa Group LimitedDavid Hodnett, deputy CEO operations, Barclays Africa Group LimitedJabulani Moleketi, chair of the board, Development Bank of Southern AfricaPatrick Khulekani Dlamini, CEO, Development Bank of Southern AfricaLaurie Dippenaar, chairman, FirstRand LimitedHendrik du Toit, CEO, Investec Asset Management LimitedStephen Koseff, CEO, Investec LimitedNonkululeko Nyembezi-Heita, chairman, Johannesburg Stock Exchange LimitedThabo Dloti, CEO, Liberty HoldingsNicolaas Kruger, CEO, MMI Holdings LimitedMike Brown, CEO, Nedbank GroupTrevor Manuel, chairman, Old MutualAnisha Archary, human resources director, Old Mutual Emerging MarketsRex Tomlinson, chief of staff, Old MutualIqbal Survé, executive chairman, Sekunjalo Investment HoldingsSimpiwe Tshabalala, joint CEO, Standard Bank Group LimitedBusiness leadersBrian Dames, CEO, African Rainbow Energy and PowerPatrice Motsepe, founder and executive chairman, African Rainbow MineralsAndries Jacobus Wilkens, executive director, African Rainbow MineralsSipho Pityana, chairman, AngloGold AshantiStewart Bailey, senior vice-president, AngloGold AshantiThoba Grenville-Grey, senior associate of investments, Awethu ProjectAdrian Gore, group chief executive, Discovery LimitedMokena Makeka, creative and managing director, Makeka Design LabPhuthuma Nhleko, executive chairman, MTN GroupStephen van Coller, vice-president of strategy, mergers and acquisitions, MTN GroupPeter Staude, CEO, Tongaat HulettDave Duarte, CEO, TreeshakeMediaAlec Hogg, editor, Biznews.comBronwyn Nielsen, editor-in-chief and executive director, CNBC AfricaChristina Adriana de Wet, executive editor, Independent MediaImtiaz Patel, CEO of Naspers Video Entertainment, Naspers LimitedAnant Singh, producer, Videovision EntertainmentOtherTrevor Mundel, president of the Global Health Programme, Bill and Melinda Gates FoundationLindiwe Mazibuko, former opposition leader in Parliament for the DAPrecious Moloi-Motsepe, CEO, Motsepe FoundationNozipho Joyce Mxakato-Diseko, permanent representative of South Africa to the United Nations and other international organisations in Geneva, Permanent Mission of South AfricaPeter Draper, senior research fellow in the Economic Diplomacy Programme, the South African Institute of International AffairsCobus de Swardt, managing director, Transparency InternationalMax Price, vice-chancellor, University of Cape TownAndrew Muir, CEO, Wilderness Foundation AfricaWould you like to use this article in your publication or on your website? See Using Brand South Africa material.last_img

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *